Brief reflections on a difficult year

So the first year is almost over and it’s been difficult.
It would be easy to say that really I have achieved nothing, learned nothing and made next to nothing -certainly what I have made has been without much meaning. I guess everything that I’d hoped would happen before starting the MA has happened. My practice along with my confidence in it has been ripped apart, questioned and generally left in pieces – trouble is it’s very hard to remember that this is a good thing when it’s actually happening to you.

On reflection I feel that my practice is on the verge of becoming much stronger, I am excited about what I’m (admittedly very slowly) making, and feel like it has meaning.

The most important realisation is that NOTHING else matters except the WORK. Everything else is in secondary.

Looking back at all the top artists I have been fortunate to hear/meet this year the one thing above anything else that all share is the professional quality of what they do. Not just the work but everything that surrounds it. Everything is done to the highest standards in order to make the work as good as it can be. It’s simply not enough anymore to have what may be a great piece of work and hope this alone will take you where you need to be. The whole package that surrounds the work has to be as good if not better. A good thought to take into my final year – Be the complete package.

Leave a Reply

